Wim Vanhoof Wim.Vanhoof@REDACTED
Mon May 5 11:34:23 CEST 2003

With apology for multiples copies.
Deadline in 3 weeks


                 International Symposium on 
       Logic-based Program Synthesis and Transformation,
            August 25 - 27, 2003 Uppsala, Sweden
                      CALL FOR PAPERS

The aim of the LOPSTR series is to stimulate and promote international
research and collaboration on logic-based program development, and the
symposium is open to contributions in logic-based program development
in any language paradigm.  

LOPSTR 2003 will be held at the University of Uppsala, as part
of PLI 2003 (Principles, Logics, and Implementation of High-Level 
Programming Languages), a confederation of conferences and workshops
including ICFP 2003 (ACM-SIGPLAN International Conference on
Functional Programming) and PPDP 2003 (ACM-SIGPLAN International
Conference on Principles and Practice of Declarative Programming).

Past events were held in Manchester, UK (1991, 1992, 1998),
Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium (1993), Pisa, Italy (1994), Arnhem, the
Netherlands (1995), Stockholm, Sweden (1996), Leuven, Belgium (1997),
Venice, Italy (1999), London, UK (2000), Paphos, Cyprus (2001),
Madrid, Spain (2002).  Since 1994 the proceedings have been published
in the LNCS series of Springer-Verlag.

LOPSTR also aims to be a lively, friendly forum for presenting and
discussing work in progress, so it has a strong workshop character, in
the sense that it is also intended to provide useful feedback to
authors on their preliminary research. Formal proceedings of the
symposium are produced only after the symposium, so that authors can
incorporate this feedback in the published papers.

Scope of the Workshop

We solicit full papers as well as extended abstracts describing work
in progress. Topics of interest cover all aspects of logic-based
program development, all stages of the software life cycle, and issues
of both programming-in-the-small and programming-in-the-large.

The following is a non-exhaustive list of topics:
 *    specification
 *    synthesis
 *    verification
 *    transformation
 *    specialisation
 *    analysis
 *    composition
 *    reuse
 *    optimisation
 *    applications and tools
 *    component-based software development
 *    agent-based software development
 *    software architectures
 *    design patterns and frameworks
 *    program refinement and logics for refinement
 *    proofs as programs

Submission Guidelines

Authors can either submit extended abstracts (up to 6 pages)
describing work in progress or they can choose to submit full papers
(up to 16 pages in llncs format).
Contributions should be written in English and should be submitted
electronically in Postscript or PDF format to the program chairman at
the following email address: Maurice.Bruynooghe@REDACTED
Prospective authors who have difficulties for the electronic
submission may contact the chairman. Accepted papers have to be
presented at the Symposium by one of the authors and will appear in
the  informal pre-proceedings distributed at the Symposium.

Formal Proceedings

After the workshop, authors of work that is judged mature for
publication will be invited to submit a full paper. These will be
reviewed according to the usual refereeing procedures, and accepted
papers will be published in a final collection of papers which are
expected to be published in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science
series by Springer-Verlag.

Accepted full papers that the PC considers of sufficient quality will
be exempted from a second reviewing round.

Important Dates

      May 25, 2003: submission deadline for full papers 
      June 8, 2003: submission deadline for extended abstracts 
      June 22, 2003: notification of authors 
      August 1, 2003: deadline for informal pre-proceedings 
      December 1, 2003: submission deadline for revised papers 
      February 1, 2004: notification of authors

Program Committee

      Elvira Albert (Spain) 
      Roland Bol (Sweden) LOCAL ORGANISOR
      Maurice Bruynooghe (Belgium) PROGRAMME CHAIR
      Michael Butler (UK) 
      Jim Caldwell (USA) 
      Wlodek Drabent (Poland) 
      Tom Ellman (USA) 
      Norbert E. Fuchs (Switzerland) 
      Robert Glück (Japan) 
      Gopal Gupta (USA) 
      Ian Hayes (Australia) 
      Catholijn Jonker (the Netherlands) 
      Andy King (UK) 
      Mario Ornaghi (Italy) 
      Maurizio Proietti (Italy) 
      German Puebla (Spain) 
      Julian Richardson (USA) 
      Olivier Ridoux (France) 
      Sabina Rossi (Italy) 
      Wim Vanhoof (Belgium) 

More information about the erlang-questions mailing list